Clinical Quality Measures

Our Tools

Clinical Quality Measures (CQM) are tools that help us measure and track the quality of health-care services provided by Eligible Professionals (EPs), Eligible Hospitals (EHs) and critical-access hospitals within our health-care system. These measures use a wide variety of data that are associated with a provider’s ability to deliver high-quality care or relate to long-term goals for health-care quality. CQMs measure many aspects of patient care, including health outcomes, clinical processes, patient safety, efficient use of health-care resources, care coordination, patient engagement, population and public health and clinical guidelines.

Continuously measuring and reporting these CQMs helps to ensure that our health-care system can deliver effective, safe, efficient, patient-centered, equitable and timely care.

What We Do

EPs will need to report nine measures, and EHs will need to report 16. CQMs may be reported electronically or via attestation. The quality measures selected must cover at least three of the six available National Quality Strategy (NQS) domains, which represent the Department of Health and Human Services’ NQS priorities for health care quality improvement.

The six NQS domains are:
1. Patient and Family Engagement
2. Patient Safety
3. Care Coordination
4. Population/Public Health
5. Efficient Use of Health-Care Resources
6. Clinical Process/Effectiveness

Learn More

CMS has identified two recommended core sets of e-CQMs—one for adults and one for children—that focus on high-priority health conditions and best practices for care delivery.

Beginning in 2014, all providers, regardless of whether they are in Stage 1 or Stage 2 of MU, are required to report on the 2014 CQMs finalized in the Stage 2 rule. In addition, beginning in 2014, all EPs and EHs beyond their first year of MU will be required to submit CQMs electronically. To learn more about electronic reporting, please visit the Electronic Reporting Specification page of the EHR Incentive Program.